Harding Elementary Ready to Rock Out Cancer

footprintsGet your walking shoes laced and ready–the second annual Rockin’ Race for Cancer will be held on Wednesday,  May 28 from 12:30 – 3:00pm at The Rayen Stadium on Cordova Avenue in Youngstown. Kelly Stevens, HOT 101 radio personality and Youngstown Rotarian, will emcee the event, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Youngstown. Students will participate in three stations according to grade level: The Rockin’ Race around the Rayen track, Rockn’ Zumba led by Jamie Bylor, certified Zumba instructor, and Rockin’ Snack provided by Grow Youngstown.

Students from Harding Elementary School have been collecting donations during the month of May, and those gifts will be presented to Dr. Rashid Abdu at the end of the festivities in support of the Joanie Abdu Comprehensive Breast Care Center at St. Elizabeth Hospital.  The two top fundraisers from each classroom will win a Free Field Trip to the OH WOW Roger and Gloria Jones Children’s Center for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math. The two top students from each class, one boy and one girl, running the most laps, will win McDonald’s Happy Meal Coupons.  Harding School families are encouraged to attend the day’s event. All of the money raised will directly benefit women in the Mahoning Valley.

Joanie’s Promise is a grant-funded program that provides breast care services for uninsured and under insured women who meet financial eligibility. This program covers all diagnostic breast-related services and pays for hospital and radiologist fees. Those who qualify do not receive a bill.

Event Sponsors include Youngstown Rotary Foundation; Janet and Mike Murray and W. C. Granger Co.; Lane Transport; Sam’s Club; American Maintenance; Grow Youngstown; Sherman Creative Promotions; John & Michelle Perdue from McDonald’s; OH WOW Roger & Gloria Jones Center for Science & Technology; Humility of Mary Health Partners; CCA Graphics; John Slanina; Debbie Esbenshade and Kevin Chiu. Committee chairs are Carol Sherman and Frank Kishel. Committee members are Linda Kostka, Sharon Letson, Samantha Turner, Elsa Higby, Jonahon Flauvie, Kelly Bervish, Tammy Foley and Susan Koulianos.

For more information about the Rockin’ Race, call Carol Sherman at 330.360.8839 or Frank Kishel at 330.720.6328.

This entry was posted in Events, Put Kids First, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.